Governing Bodies


The SSC is the decision-making council for Consolidated Application programs operated at the school to improve student achievement.  The SSC shall develop and approve the Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA) in consultation with all stakeholders (with the review, certification and advice of any applicable school advisory committee, including the English Learner Advisory Committee (ELAC) and the Gifted & Talented Education Program Advisory Committee.

Roles/Responsibilitiesof the SSC are to:

· Develop a comprehensive Single Plan for Student Achievement and ensure that the school is continually engaged in identifying and implementing curriculum and instructional practices.

· The SSC must meet at least eight (8) times per year.

(The following is an excerpt from:  Great

The School Site Council plays an important role in decision-making at many schools.
What the school site council does:

The school site council is a group of teachers, parents and classified employees that work with the principal to develop, review and evaluate school improvement programs and school budgets. The members of the site council are generally elected by their peers. For example, parents elect the parent representatives and teachers elect teachers.

The exact duties of school site councils vary from state to state and even between districts in the same state, but site councils generally either make decisions or advise the principal on the school budget and the academic or school improvement plan. Franklin follows LAUSD Policy (See PDF below) to conduct School Site Council business.

Over the course of a year, a typical council might consider the goals of the school or district and then work with the principal to evaluate the school's progress toward those goals. In this evaluation, the council might consider school test scores, attendance and discipline records, parent surveys and input from students.

After looking at the big picture of the school's progress, the council and the principal create a plan for improvement. This plan might involve a new supplemental program, staff member or parent outreach strategy. For example, one council might use funds to develop a new supplemental program, while another might decide to hire a reading specialist. Another council might decide that hiring an additional teacher to reduce class sizes in a particular grade or a parent liaison to get more parents involved would be the best use of its money. Because school budgets are limited and many funds can only be spent in certain ways, there are always tough decisions to make.

Successful school site councils, regardless of their specific agendas, are more than a "rubber stamp" committee, and always ask thoughtful and challenging questions.

School site council members don't just represent their own interests. They have an obligation to make decisions that will best serve the whole school community. In fact, many site councils are specifically charged with finding ways to close gaps in achievement between groups of students.


English Learner Advisory Committee (ELAC)

Each school with more than 21 English learner students (including Special Education schools) shall establish an elected English Learner Advisory Committee (ELAC). 

The responsibilities of the ELAC include:

· Advising the School Site Council (SSC) on the development of the Single Plan for Student Achievement (SPSA), especially those sections related to English learner

· Assisting in the development of the school’s Needs assessment, Language census.

· Making efforts to make parents aware of the importance of regular school attendance. 

· Advising the principal and staff on the school’s program for English learners.

· Assisting the LDELAC in the dissemination of information and materials related to all aspects of the Master Plan for English Learners

· Advising in the development of and approval of the school’s Title III and Economic Impact Aid-Limited English Proficient (EIA-LEP) budgets.


English Learner Advisory Committees fall under the Greene Act. 

School Committees

School Committees

Committee Members


Chairperson:         Mr. Greg Brouwer
Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Adam Moore
Secretary:            Ms. Karina Barbier
Parliamentarian:   Ms. Senisa Austin

Co-Chairperson:  Ms. Edna Ikeda-Horiuchi
Co-Chairperson:  Ms. Veronica Sasso
Secretary:          Ms. Wendy Perez
Parliamentarian:  Ms. Christina Waimrin


Chairperson:         Ms. Eva Catalan
Vice-Chairperson: Ms. Severine Van Wersch
Secretary:            Ms.
Parliamentarian:    Mr.